About First Lutheran Church
The “Little White Church” is no longer an active church, but these days is managed by an all-volunteer board of trustees. The church is open to the public for weddings, baptisms, renewal of wedding vows, memorial services, concerts, and other community events. First Lutheran Church is no longer a part of any denomination, and all are welcome here. Most people are surprised to discover that the church can accomodate up to 250 people.
Founded in 1852, the congregation of the historic First Lutheran Church worshipped first in a small log building down the hill on Pleasant View Rd., and then in the current church building, until dwindling membership closed its doors in 1947. For many years the church stood empty, and at one point it was in danger of being burned to the ground. In the 1980’s the community came together to raise money, restore the church, and save it from demolition.
Since then volunteers have been stewards of the property, which includes the church and historic cemetery. There are no paid employees, and the church receives no funding from any religious organization. The board of trustees is committed to the preservation of this historic landmark, which is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Members of the board are Jim Bren, Alice Drake (secretary), Catherine Haberland, Diana Hutchinson, Katie McEnaney, Bruce Michaelis (President), Don Pierstorff, Paul Pierstorff, Gary Splitter (treasurer), Jackie Splitter, Wayne Rounds, Ann Walser, and Tom Cottington.
First Lutheran Board of Trustees, Sept. 2015
Left to Right: Katie Carter McEnaney, Paul Pierstorff, Alice Drake, Ann Walser, Diana Hutchinson, Catherine Haberland,
Bruce Michaelis, Don Pierstorff, Wayne Rounds.
Not pictured: Jackie and Gary Splitter, Jim Bren, Tom Cottington.